FAQ - Donald A. Pegg Student Leadership Award


What is the Donald A. Pegg Student Leadership Award?

The award is in honor of Donald A. Pegg, a New York City business man who suffered a heart attack and a stroke in 1986 when he was 52. In response to this health set back, he went on a mission and searched for ways to prevent it from happening again. He participated in residential intensive lifestyle change programs, added fruits, vegetables, more whole grains, and healthy protein to his diet as well as started riding a stationary bike religiously five days a week.

With this regimen and his medical care, Donald was able to live the best years of his life after his heart attack and stroke, enjoying 27 additional years with family and friends. Donald served as an inspiration to many, especially his daughter, Elizabeth Pegg Frates who has spent the past 30 years researching, studying, teaching, and practicing lifestyle medicine.

Beth and her family have donated a yearly grant of $5000 to the American College of Lifestyle Medicine in honor of Donald to help the college further the cause of Lifestyle Medicine through work with young aspiring healthcare students.

Why was the Award established?

Donald and his family believe in the power of lifestyle medicine to transform lives and help individuals be healthier and more productive. The award was established to encourage leadership in lifestyle medicine at the student level for the advancement of this important field of healthcare. The goal of the award will be to establish Lifestyle Medicine Interest Groups (LMIG) at medical schools and other healthcare professional training programs in the country.

What is the history of the Lifestyle Medicine Interest Groups (LMIG)?

The LMIG originated at Harvard Medical School as a parallel curriculum for medical students. It also provides an opportunity for students to meet fellow students with similar interests. In addition, students can meet faculty who are actively involved with lifestyle medicine practice, education and research. The LMIG students gather together several times a year to hear lectures by faculty and practitioners with a passion for LM and a passion for teaching.

Who are the recipients for this award?

This award will be given to student leaders who commit to advancing this important field initially through the establishment of a Lifestyle Medicine Interest Group (LMIG) at their respective educational institution, and later through continued involvement and work in the field. We encourage medical students, nursing students, graduate students, physical therapy, occupational therapy, psychology students, and other healthcare professionals in training to apply. NOTE: Residents and fellows are ineligible for this particular award.

What does the award consist of?

The award consists of a onetime grant of $1500 to each winner, presented during the annual ACLM conference.

$500 of this amount will be used as travel reimbursement funds for the winning student to attend the ACLM Annual Conference (held in October) where they will be formally recognized and also have the opportunity to meet with ACLM leadership, other winners, the larger ACLM membership and other conference attendees. An additional $500 will provide a full registration for the Lifestyle Medicine 2019 conference, set for October 27-30 in Orlando, Florida.  The final $500 will serve as a seed grant to the student and his/her institution to help start the LMIG on his or her campus, or to fortify an already existing LMIG.

How many award winners are selected each year?

Four winners are selected each year from the applicant pool.

How are the recipients selected?

Step 1:A call for applications is announced to students affiliated with healthcare-related colleges and universities throughout the U.S. and to students outside the U.S. who are affiliated with the Lifestyle Medicine Global Alliance and its member organizations (sister organizations of the American College of Lifestyle Medicine), encouraging them to apply online. Click here  for the Donald A. Pegg Student Leadership Award application form.

Step 2:Applicants submit a short single spaced one-page personal statement about their interest in Lifestyle Medicine and how the monetary award will help them further their goals at their institution. The application will need to include:

  • A response to the question: what is motivating you to start a LMIG in your school and what do you hope to accomplish in the first year?
  • An updated CV
  • Information on the faculty advisor for the group, including a short signed one page letter on letterhead stationary from him/ her explaining their interest in Lifestyle Medicine and support for the student and his/ her initiative.
  • List of four faculty, clinicians, or Lifestyle Medicine practitioners that have committed to give a talk to the LMIG over the course of the first year. This should include the credentials of the speakers and the topic each one will be speaking on.
  • A commitment to join and advertise four webinars with ACLM selected speakers during the course of a year. These will be webinars presented on any lifestyle medicine topic such as exercise, nutrition, behavior change and more, with the first one being an introduction to Lifestyle Medicine.

Step 3:The Awards Committee of ACLM then conducts a review of all complete applications, evaluating each on the strength of the overall proposal. Each application is graded by each committee member on a number of factors using a point system that looks at the following criteria in particular:

  • personal and professional commitment to Lifestyle Medicine
  • vision for the Lifestyle Medicine Interest Group
  • commitment of the faculty advisor
  • previous experience in lifestyle medicine and relevant activities
  • previous leadership roles and community involvement
  • speaker list and quality of the topics selected
  • marketing plan to advertise and recruit members to the group

Step 4:The total points for each application are calculated and applications are ranked from highest to lowest, and after deliberations by the committee the top four winners are selected.

What is the application deadline for the award?  Click here  to access the online application.

July 31, 2019 11:59 pm PST

When are awardees notified?

September 1, 2019

If an applicant doesn’t win, can he/she reapply?

Yes, applicants who were not awarded in a particular year are able to reapply as long as they continue to be students. Each winning application is selected from the pool of applicants in a particular year so we encourage you to reapply.